Skiing is fun.

It has been a while since I have written something on here, but after this weekend, I am feeling inspired. Note that All photos in this post were taken by Cy Whitling.

Photo taken by Cy Whitling
Photo by Cy Whitling

Last Friday, a group of 15+ ladies (and 3 men) arrived in Jackson for a weekend of fun & filming. The weekend was sponsered by Newschoolers.com, Orage, and BlackStrap Industries. The purpose? To produce an edit of a ladies shred sesh in Jackson, WY. Girls came from all over: Canada, Utah, Colorado, Washington, you name it. We were all there for one reason: to ski and to have fun doing it.

I didn’t know anyone going into the weekend. I had been in contact with Erica, who had organized the event with through Newschoolers.com, but I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I offered up some couch and floor space, and next thing I knew, I was hosting a large crew of energetic rippers.

What began as a potential opportunity to get some photos turned into one of the best weekends of the season.

Photo by Cy Whitling
Photo by Cy Whitling
IMG_9158
Photo by Cy Whitling

*      *      *      *      *

Talk about being inspired. These ladies can fucking shred. They hit cliffs, jumps, rails, and anything else that looked like it might be fun. As a big mountain skier, I have spent little to no time in the terrain park. Watching these girls was not only incredible entertaining, but ridiculously motivating and very inspiring. They proved that they can do anything and that they have no fear.

Personally, I like to ski fast, and challenge myself by skiing big, steep lines. This weekend was a huge reminder to me that there are so many different types of skiers out there, and there is still so much to learn. I enjoy jumping off the occasional cliff, but the idea of sliding across a rail into a 360 is pretty foreign to me, and definitely not a skill I have mastered. After this weekend, I plan to throw on some park skis and spend some quality time getting my ass handed to me. In the end, I hope to finish the season with some new skills.  You just wait ladies, you’re gonna be like whatttttt, that’s Becca? Shiiiiiiiiiiit.

It is not often that I hang out with a bunch of nineteen and twenty year olds. Normally, I would dread this experience. However, with this group, all that this meant was more laughs, a tight budget when it came to food, and a slight feeling of motherhood (in a good way) on my end.

One night we went over to a cabin where some of the girls were staying, and they said they were cooking pasta. We arrived to an outside yoga session in the dark. We threw some pasta on the stove to get things rolling. We asked where the sauce was, when we were informed that there was none. “Tonight, it is just noodles and salt.” Well, that’s life – can’t complain about free food. When the pasta was done we searched the cabinets for plates and forks. There were two plates and no forks. We ate our gourmet spaghetti & salt with our hands…#collegelife. I guess you are never too old for certain things.

Photo by Cy Whitling
Photo by Cy Whitling
Photo by Cy Whitling
Photo by Cy Whitling

I could go on and on about how amazing the (extended) weekend was, but that would take much too long. I just had to say how humbled I was by the incredible skills that these girls have, and how fortunate I feel to have been a part of the event. Erica – thanks so much for making it happen, and thanks to Cy Whitling, Troy Haas, and Andreas Schroeder for putting up with so many ladies for so many days. Most of all, THANK YOU to every crazy lady that made it all come together and be such an eventful and memorable experience.

To sum the Jackson Lady Shred Sesh up, I will end with these words…

Bacon. Cliffs. Ski naked. Mustache ride. St Patty’s Day = no words needed. Cy=so hott right now. Friends are awesome. Skiing is fun. Boom.

Check out Newschoolers.com for the latest and greatest skiing footage, and if you want the gear that has the function and the look – make sure to check out Orage and BlackStrap Industries. They will not disappoint.

Ladies (and three men) you all rock my world and I am so lucky to have met each and every one of you! Til next time…keep getting after it, you are some of the raddest kids I know.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

